Skip navigation

135 Signatories to the Declaration

Join Us

Sign the Declaration

This page contains the previous version of the Better Futures Australia Declaration. For the latest version, click here.

The Better Futures Australia Declaration is a joint statement of support that brings together private and public sector leaders in taking ambitious climate action to ensure Australia is on track for a prosperous, climate-resilient zero emissions future, in line with the goals of the Paris Agreement.

We are Australian business and industry leaders, investors, local and state and territory governments, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, healthcare and social institutions, farmers, developers, unions, workers, artists, academic and cultural institutions, and communities. Together, we are committed to leading by example and supporting Australia’s international commitment to transition to net zero emissions before 2050.

We commit to:

  • taking climate actions through individual effort and collaboration to ensure Australia contributes to limiting average global warming to 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels;
  • showcasing new climate commitments and actions to inspire other Australians to realise zero emissions opportunities;
  • advocating for a national response that will deliver action at the scale required to reach net zero emissions well before 2050; and
  • working together, alongside and in partnership with Federal, State and Local Government leadership, to support the delivery of the Paris Agreement.

We recognise that responding to climate change requires all of us to act, alongside and in partnership with Federal, State and Local Government leadership. We invite all Australians to join us in helping to ensure our nation can, and will, meet its commitment under the Paris Agreement.

As the world comes together to address the current health and climate crisis, we believe accelerating Australia’s transition to a zero emissions society is central to our economic recovery and to delivering better futures for us all.

By working together, we can harness the opportunities from investment in zero emissions industries, including renovating and creating zero emissions buildings, transport, cities and regions; electrifying and innovating manufacturing; regenerative agriculture; carbon neutral food production; land restoration and biodiversity protection; and creating sustainable jobs to build better futures for all Australians.

We can also seize the opportunity to become a clean energy superpower, via direct renewable energy exports and in jobs rich industries like green steel, cement, aluminium and hydrogen.

Realising these zero emissions opportunities is vital to the future health and prosperity of our businesses and communities, and to a stable climate that underpins Australia’s rich ecosystems, wildlife, bush, and oceans, and the healthy soils and water that we rely on.


Visit our Signatories page to see who has signed the Better Futures Australia Declaration. 

The path to a zero emissions society and a better, healthier, more resilient future requires the traditional knowledge and leadership of First Nations Peoples. We acknowledge Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the original custodians of this land and the world’s oldest living culture who sustainably managed this Country for tens of thousands of years. Indigenous sovereignty of this land was never ceded. 

The Better Futures Australia initiative is supported by Climate Action Network Australia member and supporter organisations including: World Wide Fund Australia; Australian Conservation Foundation; Investor Group on Climate Change; ClimateWorks Australia; Climate and Health Alliance; Australian Marine Conservation Society; Nature Conservation Council NSW; The Sunrise Project; Australian Council of Social Service; and the United Workers Union.

We are part of the Alliances for Climate Action, a global network of national alliances of business, subnational governments and other leaders that are driving climate action in their countries, including the United States, Japan, Argentina, Mexico, Brazil, South Africa and Vietnam.